BOOKS SET IN NYC

Where She went…Is the sequel to the much loved ‘If I Stay’ by Gayle Foreman which has now been turned into a movie. If I’m being honest I was quite lukewarm towards ‘If I Stay’ I didn’t hate it but in retrospect just watching the movie then reading the sequel would have been a better use of my time. However I really enjoyed ‘Where She Went’ finishing it in less than a day.I don’t want to give away the plot in case you haven’t read the first book, but this one follows Adam, lead singer of Shooting Star, over the space of two days in New York and the book was written in a way that had me feeling everything as if I was there with them .

The Geography of You and Me…Begins in a broken down elevator on a hot New York summer day and a chance encounter leads to a series of postcards, moves and events that make a cute feel good read for any YA lover.

Dash and Lilly’s Book of Dares…Is one of my favourite books of all time, a title I don’t take lightly. This is one of those books that is even more delicious when you know very little about it, but what I can say ,without compromising it’s wonderfulness is: it’s perfect to read around the Christmas season, starts with a book of dares and is filled with wonderful characters and is truly a ‘I love it so much that I don’t want it to end’ book. Read it, honestly.

The Princess Diaries… I read this series when I was around 11 and because it was one of the first series I ever read I may have it on a pedestal, but The Princess Diaries 1 is an incredibly delightful book. Mia Thermopolis (literally me) is a weird, geeky 15 year old who is living a painfully awkward high school experience until she finds out she is the heir to the throne of Genovia. This book and the movie made to accompany it are delightful and will have you simultaneously laughing and dying of second hand embarrassment which is always fun.

Beastly…I’m going to be  honest here, I haven’t actually read this book (yet), but books are often better than their film adaptations and I l o v e d the movie. Loosely based on beauty and the beast (my favourite disney classic) this story follows Kyle an incredibly popular incredibly conceited high school student who is cursed and loses his looks before meeting Linda, the beauty. My favourite part of the movie (spoilerish alert) is a greenhouse that I want to recreate if I ever move to New York and I really enjoyed it’s take on the classical beauty and the beast story

Leave a Reply

