17

Its 21:40 on the 13th of January 2015, It has now been exactly 17 years since I first stepped out – well was pushed out – into the word and all I can feel is an overwhelming need for reassurance.

Birthdays have always been a time of mixed emotions for me. On one hand I love them, presents and decorations, cake and just general celebration (excuse the rhyme), but on the other hand I spend the night before my birthday evaluating the successes and failures of the last year and then spend my actual birthday night from around 9:40pm, when I was born thinking about the future.

Don’t get me wrong I have a lot of things to look forward to this year, so much so that I’ll spend most of the year counting down to the next exciting thing but a lot of things scare me.

Recent events around the world like the massacre in Nigeria, attacks in Paris and ongoing problems in the middle east terrify me. My word of the year was ‘Trust’ as in trust that everything will work out for good and in my case, trust in God, but in a world were everything seems to be going downhill optimism becomes difficult to maintain.

I’m going to start actively paying more attention to the news both local and international to educate myself and see how I can make a difference. Also this year on my blog and other social medias I want to start sharing stories of hope and change to kind of “reinforce my faith in humanity”( I know its a cliche and I hate the saying as much as the next person but it had to be said).

In other news I had a lovely birthday in which I remembered just how truly I am loved by the people around me and just how privileged I am which is encouraging me to try and make a difference.

I hope you’re having a good day wherever you are, excuse the bad spelling, lack of structure/direction and grammar in this post I am literally writing and posting it after an emotional “why isn’t the world all sunshine and rainbows” rant but, I’ll be back with a more coherent post on Friday.

Rufaro (who is feeling very 17)

X

PS: 2016 Rufaro edited this to make it slightly more coherent.

Leave a Reply

