Winter Weather, Summer Feeling

I love the sunshine, I’m the type of person who is at their happiest when the sun is shining regardless of if its warm or cold, the sunshine gives me energy and if its up I find it hard to be in a bad mood.Its winter in England meaning that I can rarely see past the clouds and fog  so I spend most of the winter months feeling kind of deflated, but I read the lovely quote below a few months ago and it has became my mantra for October-February, “Always maintain a kind of summer even in the middle of winter”. This is clearly much easier said than done so I thought that I would share a few of my tips for waking up feeling as if its summer even in the midst of the winter gloom.

  1. Fill your surroundings with light, there are only a few hours of daylight each day now so make the most of it, open your windows as soon as you wake up and let the sun rays fill you with positive energy… wow I sound like a hippie but I’m serious, exposure to the sun kills bad bacteria, cleanses the blood and provides you with vitamin d and knowing that makes me feel a little  bit happier.
  2.  Try to seek out the beauty in the world around you, there are a lot of pretty natural things in the summer/spring time but that beauty is still present in the winter, from snowflakes to frozen ponds, winter sunrises and the way everything appears to be tinged with blue. If you look at the world with a hopeful heart you’ll learn to find beauty everywhere.
  3. Surround yourself with life by this I mainly mean humans, don’t let the cold weather and earlier nights stop you from going out with your friends and family. I love going out for meals, coffee and watching movies in the winter because everything feels cosier and the combination of the people you love with the activities you love creates a kind of warmth inside. However for those of you who like to stay in and prefer your own company (me), buy a plant, or two, or ten. It sounds odd but I feel like having something small to take care of especially if the plant blooms throughout the year is a nice way to stay positive and appreciate the little things.
Do you have any other tips for maintaining a summer feeling through the colder months? if you do feel free to leave a comment,
Love and Light,
Rufaro
x
Leave a Reply

