A Work In Progress: 3 hour review

A Work In Progress by Connor Franta

★★★★4

I’ve decided right now to start reviewing books within 3 hours of reading them.

If I’m being honest I was a little hesitant to read a  “YouTube book” before this one, I disagreed with the ways that some people had executed the whole thing and didn’t want to spend £15 on a generic book in which somebody a) tried to be funny b)  copied the format of already popular books or c) lied about writing said novel…shady.

However when one of my friends came to me gushing about ‘A Work In Progress’ I took the opportunity, borrowed it and was met with a pleasant surprise.

I like Connor, though I couldn’t go as far to say that his past videos have been any of my favourites, he has one of those of infectious bubbly sunshine like personalities that makes you just want to watch his videos or listen to his voice all the time, but this book made me see a different side to him, a side that I would really like to understand and see more.


If I had to describe ‘A Work In Progress’ In one word it would be “encouraging”. In the book Connor shares the lesson he’s learnt and intertwines them with pep talks about creativity and following your dreams which I loved. I am all about that self improvement spending hours reading self help books and watching Ted talks, but this book really pushed me that extra mile. The book encouraged me to keep on going, follow my impulses, realise that nobody has it together and to embrace and share my creativity.

Reading it you can tell that he put a lot of time and effort into this and it’s written in such a beautiful yet conversational and not too heavy way which made it a quick and easy read filled with quotable paragraphs and questions which forced me to stop, put the book to the side, and just really think. 

 I’m basically a 5 year old when it comes to pictures in books and I was not disappointed ‘A work in Progress’ is filled with photos, from cute and slightly embarrassing childhood moments to pictures that Connor took himself which gives it another dimension and makes it very tumblr worthy (which is always a good thing).

 I would definitely recommend this book as it is lovely in its own right and defies every single negative stereotype that I associate with “YouTube books” so put aside all of your preconceived expectations, read the book  and take it for the lovely piece of work it is.

Rufaro

 x

2 thoughts on “A Work In Progress: 3 hour review

Leave a Reply

