Lessons from Spring ’15

I’m at my happiest when I’m busy
I hate being bored and I hate feeling like I’m not being productive. I had a conversation with my brother recently and he was talking about how happy he was when doing projects and I realised that I felt the same way. When I’m at school I have daily to do lists made up of both school stuff and fun stuff. During half term I realised that having too much spare time and no real commitments isn’t good for me, So I’ve started giving myself deadlines and daily to do lists in order to stay busy and feel like I’m not wasting my life away.

Having things to look forward to is essential when you’re doing things you don’t like (such as exams)

The difference between GCSE’s and A level is huge and I really lacked the morivation to make that leap . Last year I had a lot of things to look forward to from holidays to parties and prom which kind of got me through my 23 exams. However this year I found it a lot harder to motivate myself to do revision or care because I didn’t have that much to look forward too. All I could hear in my head was “if you fail you won’t be going to university next year” and my social life was completely dead so there was no real positive encouragements. Thankfully in the week before my exams I had a bit of an epiphany and started planning things to do after my exams  which made a big difference on my revision and attitude towards exam season. Of course I don’t know yet whether or not that paid off but I’m feeling a lot more optimistic about how my my exams went than I thought I would which hopefully is reflection of what I actually get.
It’s not enough to want something you have  to work really hard and chase it

This sound really cliche but I’ve realised that it’s not enough just to want to be a writer or to put up the occasional blog post. in the last couple of weeks I’ve been doing a lot of “serious writing” and sending it off to websites and magazines and am working towards building up a good portfolio. Of course there have been a lot of rejections but thankfully I’ve gotten feedback from each one helping me to grow my writing skills be more original and and gain confidence that it is possible to get somewhere with the whole writing thing. My advice to anyone trying to pursue a creative career or build on a hobby is do a little everyday, I’ve been getting that advice for years but have only just began to listen and I found over my two week break just how much 30 minutes a day can improve your skills and remind you why you love what you’re trying to pursue.

what have you learnt in the last couple of months?

Rufaro

x

2 thoughts on “Lessons from Spring ’15

  1. I wish I was confident enough to send my work to publishers and magazines – hopefully I will one day though! Also, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award on my blog (ninitheblog.blogspot.com) where it has all the rules too!
    Natalie xx

    1. I try to pretend that a real person isnt going to read it so I don’t panic and back out and thank you I will read them:)

Leave a Reply

