Live it

Thessalonians 1
If somebody were to ask me what my goal in life is I would reply “to live the kind of life that inspires other people to be better”. Okay, I know that probably sounds a little weird so let me explain. I hate the phrase role model but we all have them, the people who make us want to be better who love and live in a way that inspires us. One of mine is Taylor Swift (somewhere a Christian is getting ready to write a long comment about idolising celebrities…) of course I know that she isn’t perfect and I don’t agree with everything she says or does, but for the most part she is one of those people who makes me want to be better, she is kind, humble, talented, successful and able to take not so nice situations whether they be disillusionment, loss, boy problems or self doubt and create something from them that makes you feel less alone and understood which is what I hope to do.

We all have role models, whether they be celebrities, family members, friends or just random people we meet, the people whose lives and personalities make us think “ooh I want me some of that”. For the early Christians the people of Thessalonica were like that. In Thessalonians 1:9 Paul, Silas and Timothy wrote about how people everywhere were  talking about the ways that the people of Thessalonica abandoned their idols changed their lives and turned to God. For a modern day example imagine a celebrity has just had an interview and talked about their faith and how they want to change their lives for the better because of it, I’m sure that would send a lot of heads turning and and get people talking whether that be out of  interest, anger or joy.

For me this chapter sets us two challenges 1) turn away from your old life and vices and pursue God and 2) live the kind of life and demonstrate the kind of faith that brings people to God. I think we’ll touch on both of those at a later date but for now I just want to leave you with this, Live the kind of life that inspires people to be better, it doesn’t have to be big, a series of little things makes a big difference. When I look back, the people who stand out the most in my memory are those who were  really kind the random girl who complimented me on the street when I was having a bad day, the friends who just radiated positivity, the family members who are at a level of generosity with both their love and time that I can only dream of and that is the kind of person I want to be.
People everywhere are already telling the story about the good way you accepted us when we were there with you. They tell about how you stopped worshiping idols and changed to serve the living and true God.

-Thessalonians 1:9

 

Thought  For the Week: Be A Little Kinder Than You Need To Be

Love and Light

Rufaro

Leave a Reply

